Click on the button to return to the home menu!

This page may take a while to load!

Akacon 2022

This is a blog/digital diary and photo library of my experience at the first Akacon, held in the event centre/ theatre in Beenleigh!
It was a small, first-time convention, but still very enjoyable. I believe the tickets were oversold, as it was much too packed in, like sardines (and I bet we all smelt like sardines at the end of it just like every other convention, haha).

11:00AM...ish...?

After a long drive, I arrived at the convention along with my cousin. We were a little late- the convention started at 10:00AM. But hey, let’s just say we were fashionably late.
We met up with my friend Birdcrossing and I took some time to get dressed into my costume, I was lucky enough to get a spare corner! My cousin was already dressed in a “My Hero Academia” class UA outfit, and my friend had already been suiting for a while prior and was having a bit of a breather. I checked in my costume for the competition and we tried to shuffle around the artist alley but it was much too busy so we retreated for a while.

It was a little squishy...

11:45AM

We got confused by all the announcements and rescheduling (or at-least I did) so we headed over to the theatre and we watched the idol performance “A-MUSE PROJECT”. It was also packed so we had to sit down on the floor.
I enjoyed it, the girls were very good with their performance :]

Their Instagram profile!

12:00PM

I went out into the artist alley for the second time to have a little peek, I think. I’m not actually 100% sure what I did. Pretty sure I had some quick rounds and I yoinked all the business cards I could see. I think.
Conventions totally don’t fry your brain, I promise!

It's honestly a wonder I can remember anything at all!

12:20PM

Returning back to the theatre room to prepare for the costume competition, I waited in the wrong line for like 20 minutes before realising my mistake. Luckily there was still plenty of time to get sorted, a few other costumers realised at the same time I did, haha!
I got sorted and I chatted with the fellow participants around me. My costume neighbour helped me lots with adjusting my costume, thanks Tara! I hope I remembered your name right, your costume was so good! Super impressed how you speedran your hat after your dog ate it. Must've been delicious.

It's a dog eat hat world out there.

1:00PM

I appeared in the Costume/Cosplay competition along with many other talented individuals. The announcer (Quinny I think his name was) did the worm on stage. The agonised worm. That was funny, I hope he’s announcer for next year as well.
Everyone did wonderful! I was the only original character and fursona within the competition, so I guess I’m a pioneer for all the others to enter into the Akacon competitions after me, bwahaha! Can’t wait to see what cool new costumes appear next year. I’m pumped already, and it hasn’t even been a week!

The previously mentioned 'agonised worm.'

Performance Name   Character Name     Character Series     Prizes   Image 
Spidercos? Isabelle Animal Crossing    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Nask and Vuro? Mafumafu and Kagamine Rin  Vocaloid and Producer  Best Group Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition Best Group Winner
Miaru Dreamer? Kanna Kamui Miss kobayashi’s dragon maid Best craftsmanship Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Skaggl Cosplay Judge Magister Gabranth Final Fantasy Best in Show Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition Best in Show Winner
Kaben Cosplay? Skull Knight Beserk Best Costume Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Sheep Beidou Genshin Impact    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Grand (Me!) Grand Original Fursona    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Nix Cosplay Edelgard Fire Emblem Best performance Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition Best Performance Winner
Tara Madden Tia Safalin Your Turn To Die: Death Game By Majority    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Cosplay Breeza Hisoga Hunter X Hunter Judge’s Choice Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Paradoxy Foxy Cosplay Daisy Mae Animal crossing    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
It’s a Cosplay Mess? Link Legend of Zelda    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Laura Wilson Miss armanae? ???    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
For the love of peach? Princess Peach Mario    Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Snufkin Be Vibin Sundrop FNAF Security Breach Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Ghosticus? Daisy mae(2) Animal crossing Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Dental Bleach Venti Genshin impact Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Talon Cosplay Pyramid head Silent hill Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
??? Deku My hero Academia Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Polyjuice Yuko AKB0074 Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
??? Recovery Girl My Hero Academia Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition
Quinny Announcer Funny Town N/A Akacon 2022 Costume Cosplay Competition

Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Costume Competition Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Costume Competition Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Costume Competition Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Costume Competition Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Costume Competition Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Costume Competition Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Costume Competition

2:30PM

After the competition I had a long break, I was absolutely poofed out! Turns out wearing a costume with four layers of clothing is not only hot, but actually restricts your bloodflow. Who knew? Don’t follow my footsteps, y’all!
I saw some other pals and I had some refreshments. Macarons are yummy : )

I was interested in the macaron successfully.

3:45PM

My cousin and Birdcrossing went back into the theatre to watch the "Queer Cosplay" Q&A Live panel. Meanwhile, I went back into the artist alley for the third time (or should I call it the Exhibition room?) and it was finally calm enough for me to shop in peace. I took lots of photos of costumes in this time, including a dragon costume named “Ruby” and a cool stormtrooper, among many others!

Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Queer Cosplay Panel
The Queer cosplay panel, I think? I dunno man, I wasn't there.

Akacon 2022 Dragon Fursuit Akacon 2022 Stormtrooper

I purchased a zine named “MY FAVOURITE WARRIOR CATS CHARACTERS” and two cute warrior cat stickers of Brightheart and Greystripe by a artist named ‘vogelchan’, and this lovely Bmo anatomy sticker by an artist named ‘Mechanical pen’. I also purchased a cute tamagotchi cut it yourself sheet, a sandshrew patch, a cute ‘tea party house” charm (which, funnily enough, had a really similar outfit to the one I was wearing: grey hoodie, red bowtie and a light grey jacket!)
I had some korean hot dog cheese stick thing with potatoes and a taro bubble tea as well.

Akacon 2022 Bubble tea Snacks
Akacon 2022 Haul

5:10PM

After my final trip to the artist alley, I went back to the theatre and had a little rest, waiting for the furry panel. Took a few photos of fursuiters :]

Akacon 2022 Fursuits Akacon 2022 Fursuits Akacon 2022 Fursuits Akacon 2022 Fursuits Akacon 2022 Fursuits Akacon 2022 Fursuits
FurDazzledFX, Birdcrossing, Myself and Leo.

5:45PM

We went to watch the second performance of “A-MUSE PROJECT”, which was also great. :] some people were very pumped and chanting!

Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 A-MUSE 2 electric boogaloo
A-MUSE Two, electric boogaloo.

6:00PM

Afterwards, we watched the “FURRY 101” panel hosted by SkyeHighStudios, Faux, Foxy and a cute surprise guest named Katsu who communicated only in squeaks.
Birdcrossing and I hung out a little afterwards with the other furs and I snapped a few more photos.

Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Furry Panel
Skyhigh Studios, Faux veritas, Foxy and Katsu.

7:00PM

After a full day at the convention it was time to head back! Some people stayed behind to watch a screening of “spirited away”.
In all, I had a great time. Can’t wait for next year!
Hopefully i'll have lots of money to splurge, hahah.




PHOTO GALLERY

Doctor, The bearded dragon
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Doctor the Bearded Dragon
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Doctor the Bearded Dragon
Grand looks so good when brushed (Thanks Ren!)

Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Brushed Kane and Grand
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Brushed Grand
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 69th image Nice Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022 Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022
Akacon Let's go Akamaru convention 2022

Links

Archived Schedule Akamaru Facebook Photos Brand new Akacon website!